Tags

, , , ,

Very excited, as we sit together as a family, reviewing our plans to dig out the vegetable gardens.

True I am a garden designer with out a garden.  In my defence, we’ve been planning the subdivision of our rather large residential property and I refuse to do things backwards.  I’ve got scotch blood, and practise permacultural principles whenever I can.  But we can no longer wait.

The sun beckons us, and the seeds we’ve been planning to start, are screaming to get in the ground.  Over winter, my husband and I endured an incredible kitchen renovation (I use the term endured lightly, imagine the circus I had while preparing Christmas dinner.) My lovely new kitchen boasts a gorgeous  4’x7′ butcher block style island, crafted out of Alder.

I imagine it regularly covered in freshly picked vegetables, soil still hanging on to the flesh of the carrots and the crown of the lettuces.   I dream of days devoted to canning with my mom; pickled carrots and beans, tomatoes and peaches, turnips, and beets.  My freezer supplying us with frozen peas, asparagus and strawberries.  We’ll be so inspired, that we’ll run out and bring home a pick-up load of sweet Chilliwack corn. We’ll giggle and dance around the kitchen as the kids break apart the kernels that have been cut from the cobs; little fingers submerged in the bowls filled to the rim.  Traditions and seasonal rituals that mimic my own childhood in Abbotsford, B.C.

My recent injury means the process will not only document our successes, but address the many obstacles I will meet along the way.  I don’t plan to leave the typical 4 foot paths between the raised beds.  I know this garden will have to be moved and possibly destroyed when our lot lines shift. Our installation timeline is short, our space limited, and we’re trying to conserve on costs.  As we intend to frame the beds in timber, we’re best to build smaller beds and let paths be 2 feet wide instead.  Meaning I will need the assistance of a rolling bench or my little monkeys during weeding and harvesting practises.

Even the planning finds me instructing from a table rather than participating in the construction.  I long for the labor but remind myself that I am simple not capable of the balance required.  It will be wonderful to watch and document the project with my camera and notebook.  My 11 year olds can certainly do with a little agricultural education and some time doing manly tasks with their dad.

This project will also leave room for some seed starting activities, which are easily documented.  I will do my best to produce the records in a similar format to that of an Horticultural Therapy program.  Presenting it to our readers in the same format I would a community program or school committee.

I am thrilled!  Time to Get up and Grow!

Danée

